Is too much thinking devastating?

via Devastation

Few of us have a habit of thinking too much, taking us on the verge of negative and devastating consequences. Is it so? Is thinking bad or too much of over analysis is? I will give one personal example. When I was in high school, I was not a sharp kid but an average person with nothing extraordinary, but I wanted to be something. Soon I was entangled in the vicious circle of peer pressure to be accepted in outer tribe of my batch mates. Let me tell you, It didn’t go well. I lost a crucial time by thinking too much to be accepted instead of finding who I was. All because I was more towards acceptance rather than pioneering my inner self.

Thinking, analysis is good and we all must do it, it’s kind of liberating, but over thinking will take you nowhere, overthinking is like dog chasing its tail, at the end you will be where you started with tonnes of more problems created by your own mind and that trap my friend lasts forever.

Its devastating indeed, I have seen relations break into pieces because of overthinking, people getting depressed because of it and more. There may not be physical manifestations but you brain destroys itself giving zero productivity.

Occam’s Razor is a concept saying often the solution of any problem is the simplest one of all the solutions, but we have an inherent desire to go looking for complexity due to some misguided notion. We all talk of physical destruction due to natural or man made calamities but we never look out for or identify the symptoms of destruction of inner self.

Know yourself, observe yourself is the mantra here. But knowing comes after observing, be a watcher as I said in my earlier post, of your actions and emotions. Strong emotions like love and joy even fall victim to this destroying force of overthinking.

Now the elephant in the room – how to identify and avoid this?

What I have figured out for myself and by no means this is the only way, you can have your own. First is, to know that we are not in control of everything so sometimes letting things go helps. As in one my favourite TV Series House M.D., Greg House says that ” in life everything sucks, might as well find something to smile about”. I can’t remember the exact words but this is more or less the gist what I interpreted.

Secondly, find something to smile, it helps tremendously. And try to enjoy the life and don’t overthink by expecting some grand gesture to appear before you so that you can have fun. Create your own happy hour, go out, hang out with friends, talk to them. Human interaction is ultimate stress reliever .

Third and last, try to give yourself your own company, if you don’t like to hangout with yourself, why would anyone else? I am not saying to be a loner but enjoy those moments when you are not sourrounded by crowd to observe yourself, what have you become, how can you do better, what is that you miss and what is that you don’t.

Whole idea is to condition ourselves to keep things simple, it’s not possible every time but certainly most of the times and obviously we are not looking to become omniscient but a little less stressed, more aware and conscious.

Leave a Reply

